Addison’s Birth Story

My pregnancy was wonderful. I had morning sickness fairly bad, but it lasted for about 2 weeks. Thank goodness. I found that upon waking up, if I didn’t eat within 10 minutes I would get sick. I kept saltines by the bed for this reason, and that seemed to work well for me.

After an uneventful pregnancy, I was scheduled to be induced at 7:30 A.M 12/17/14. I was due 12/1/14, but we all know babies come when they darn well want to. That morning at about 2:45 I woke up to go pee, because that was pretty much all I did in the final trimester. After going pee, I stood up, and my water broke. I was excited, but terrified at the same time, because it finally occurred to me that my daughter had to come out!
So we go into L&D and get hooked up to pitocin. The nurse had called my Doctor, and the said to go with the original plans of induction even with my water breaking. Before being hooked up, they let me take a bath which was lovely. I remember the water being so clear that it almost looked blue. It was a nice tub.

At this point, all of those we invited started to show up. My parents, and my husband’s father, as well as his grandmother. It was nice to have distractions.

After being on the Pitocin for a while, I finally started feeling some pretty strong contractions. Β I got an epidural at 4:30 PM that same day. That was like magic. I had wanted to go for a pain medication free birth, but decided ultimately that I wasn’t up for it. A few hours after it was placed I noticed I was able to feel a lot more than I should be able to. The Anesthesiologist came in, and explained that it was possible that it had moved, and that there was a way they could check. I agreed, and he held up a syringe saying that he was going to put that into the epidural line.
So the Dr pushed the “medicine” and all of a sudden my heart is POUNDING and I have this awful ringing/buzzing in my ears. I started to make sure I was taking deep long breaths because I started to have trouble catching my breath. The anesthesiologist asked if I was okay, and I said “I don’t think so.” And listed my symptoms for him. That’s when he decides to tell me that it was actually epinephrine that he injected me with, and those are the effects that would show it’s in my vein. I appreciate that they checked, but I genuinely thought that I was dying. I thought I was having some kind of allergic reaction, and that I wasn’t going to be able to meet my child. This moment was the start of a very long battle with Anxiety that I am still dealing with almost three years later.

After that ordeal, I went through the night with bad contractions. Even after replacing the epidural, it wore off. The contractions were so awful, and I was so tired, that I would fall asleep for few minutes between them. So, I would have a contraction, fall asleep for a few minutes, have a contraction, fall asleep for a few minutes.

It was the longest night of my life.

The pressure to push started to become very apparent and painful to stop around 5:30 AM on 12/18/14, but the nurse said I wasn’t dilated enough and I needed to wait until the Dr was there at 7 AM. Ugh.
When the Doctor showed up, he said I was at 9.5 cm dilated. He let me do a practice push, but my daughter didn’t move at all. He suggested that we think about a C-Section. I had been worried about this my entire pregnancy. I am only 4’8″ tall, and had a very petite frame.
It ended up being the best decision, so we signed the papers at 7:25 AM, and went into the OR at 7:30 AM. I had a different Anesthesiologist this time (Thank God). This man was a sweetheart, and he explained EVERYTHING that was going to happen. From what the block would feel like, to the shaking, to how cold it would be in the room. He sat with me and patted my hair like a dad would. He told me I was doing so well, and when she was out, he told me she was beautiful. At 7:44 AM our little girl came into this world in all of her crying glory. She was 20 inches long and 7 lbs 2.7 oz. My husband went to be with her when she was out, and I was out of the OR around 8:30 AM.

The recovery nurses told me as soon as I could move my legs, I could go to my postpartum room. I was so persistent that I moved my legs within 30 minutes, but they still kept me for another hour or so. I was able to stop shaking and hold my little girl for a while though. Bonus πŸ™‚

So, all in all. I had a 28 hour labor from my water breaking to the finish. It was long, and difficult. I felt awful for a long time because my body wasn’t able to do something it was supposed to do. Eventually I realized that no matter how I had my daughter, I had a sweet, healthy little girl.

We were released 3 days after her birth, and had plenty of help from family, and friends our first few days home. It was lovely.Β 10410347_10205445088596897_2421538866100142381_n

Lovingly Kylie (2)

4 thoughts on “Addison’s Birth Story

  1. Preet@thevelvetlife says:

    She is so adorable. You are so brave, thank you for sharing the detailed story, it brought back memories from my 2 deliveries. At the end, it is worth it when you see your little one πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

